Skip to content

Favourite Things: Month of April

May 3, 2010

It’s a bit late now, but here they are!

Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Liquid Foundation in 15 and 20

This has been my favourite as of late.  I find that 20 is too dark, and 15 is a tad pale for me, so I mix about half and half on the top of my hand before I apply.  Provides medium to full coverage, and a clean, natural looking matte finish.  I like to apply this with a flat foundation brush like MAC’s 190 to get decent, rough coverage and then buff it to even it out with a nice, dense kabuki brush I got from The Body Shop.  All it needs is a light brush of powder to set, and it stays pretty nice for the day.  I do find that it will show flakes, so you need to take care applying it if your skin is a bit on the dry side.  Just take care of your skin, and this foundation will help you even out.

NARS Napoli Lipstick

I’ve been using a sample I found in my cosmetic drawer, which was given to me during one of my previous trips to Sephora.  I apply it with a narrow flat concealer brush from MAC, which does an excellent job of substituting for a lip brush.  Napoli doesn’t look like the sort of colour I would choose for myself, but I really like the way it looks.  It’s an slightly burnt coral colour, with a bit more orange then pink in it.  The finish is sheer with some shine, and doesn’t feel overly drying, nor does it bleed on me.  It’s a great colour on me, adds a splash of more neutral colour and helps me move away from comfortable pinks that I usually take refuge in.  I’d consider this to be a great everyday colour, and I’m seriously considering buying it, despite the incredible price.    $30 CAD!!  What I don’t understand is why my Sephora online cart prices Napoli at $30CAD, while another lipstick with the same USD price comes up as $26.40.  Sephora people, what’s up?

NARS The Multiple in Copacabana

I purchased this a few months ago, and was on the fence about returning it.  It’s been sitting pretty much unused in my make up bag.  I’ve started using it again recently.  Copacabana is a dirty pearly brown coloured cream stick, but comes off as a transparent, illuminating pearl cream.  I love using it for a highlighter under my brows, in the corners of my eyes and on my cheekbones.  Using it like this, it’s probably going to last me a lifetime, as there’s a good deal in the packaging.  Not super sparkly, so this is a nice, handleable highlighter, which is super easy to apply with the fingers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

