Skip to content

Wonderful at WEM’s Rain Salon

April 10, 2010

If you ever find yourself at the West Edmonton Mall, or you are cursed to live near by, I would strongly urge you to visit Rain Salon.  My mother and I visited Rain for a break during an intense day of shopping, and where floored by what we discovered.

I wasn’t too sure of what to expect initially.  I’ve visited some other mall ‘spas’, and found myself disappointed and not impressed with the service I received.  We booked our pedicures in advance, something I’d highly recommend you do if you’re hoping for one during your trip.  Rain looked small in the front, but was actually quite deep, and had a good amount of space.  I indulged in RAIN’s Signature Pedicure ($88 CAD), which takes about an hour.  You’ll get to sit in a leather reclining chair with jetted footbath, and are provided with water, juice, tea or coffee and magazines to read.  I didn’t use the heating or massage functions built into the chair, but did enjoy some ice water with lemon juice and few magazines.

Now let’s talk pedicure.  It features a warm foot bath, followed by some work on those calluses.  I was offered one of those callus shavers, which I declined.  The esthetician was more then happy to work my feet with some files instead. After, there was a foot scrub, lotion application and a heavenly paraffin dip (my first one!).  We finished with more cream, and polish application.  I chose OPI’s Merry Midnight from their 2009 holiday collection.  My esthetician was a wonderful, funny person who I’d go back to without a second thought.  She was approachable, not snobby, chatted with me throughout the pedicure and seemed happy to be doing her job.

It’s been a week since I’ve had my pedicure, and besides some minor tenderness on behalf of my feet on the run I went on the day after, it still looks great.  I wish we had one of these back here in Vancouver.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

