Skip to content

What’s In My Purse?

March 23, 2010

Since I’ve read similar features on other blogs detailing purse contents and favourite products, I thought I’d do one of my own.

(Pictures will be posted later)

I’m a full time student, so transfer my stuff from my purse to backpack, etc on a daily basis.  Through personal experience, this is what I’ve found to work the best.  I carry a small cosmetic bag I picked up from H&M, and I keep everything in the bag.  Makes transferring, and keeping track of my stuff a snap!

In my bag, I keep mostly lip products, a sheer blotting powder to control shine, a retractable lip brush and natural headache remedy.

Lip Products

Smith’s Rosebud Salve

A light, rosy coloured and shiny moisturizing balm for lips, and any other rough skin you might have.  I use mine exclusively for my lips, for sanitary reasons.  Comes in a generous tin which will last years, and it’s pretty cheap.  I’ve never had any problems with the lid coming off, so it’s fine with me.  As long as you wash your hands before applying the balm with your fingers, you should be okay.  If you’re a major germaphobe, this balm is available, though less readily, in a tube form with angled plastic applicator.  I love this when my lips are chapped, it’s not stick at all, and I haven’t noticed it imparting any real tint onto my lips

MAC Tendertones Lip Balm in Sweet Tooth

I use this when I’m looking for a bit more colour and shine without any stickiness.  Packaged in paint pot style glass pot with plastic lid, and has a generous amount of product inside.  Sweet Tooth is a glossy watermelon pink with some light shimmer.  It has a kiwi-esq smell and mild fruity taste, and moisturizes my lips like there’s no tomorrow.  I apply this one with a brush, as the product is a bit thicker and softer then the Rosebud Salve.  Lasts really long, and it looks and feels great.  Perfect as a totally non-sticky gloss alternative!

Tarte Vitamin Infused Lip Gloss (sample size) in Apple-A-Day

I got this from Sephora’s latest Beauty Insider 500 point reward, which was pretty damn nice IMO.  It’s a raspberry pink gloss with micro sparkles and a smell I liken to fruit punch.  It doesn’t give me a whole lot of colour, but I do find that it gives my lips a nice, non-greasy looking shine.  It is a tad sticky, but has good longevity.  I love this sample size, it makes it easy to travel with multiple products.  Has a standard, doe-foot applicator.

Dior Addict Ultra-Gloss Reflect in Pink Liberty (457)

A really nice coral-nude pink with a very faint hint of pearl.  It’s not sticky at all, and has a nice brush applicator.  I don’t notice a particular smell from this one.  Packing offers a generous size, and the tube with the ‘knob’ on top is distinctively Dior.    The tube is rectangular clear plastic with brand name written across it.  It is kind of pricey, but I love it for a non-sticky gloss that enhances my lips.  This is equally great for school, or for a night out.

MAC Ever Hip Lipstick from Liberty of London Collection

The sheer nature of this lipstick makes a novice like me less intimidated of applying it in public( ie mistakes are harder to see!).  It’s a nice soft daytime colour, with some sheen.  And of course, I love love love the packaging.

MAC Frankly Fresh Lip Glass from Liberty of London Collection

I carry this because I like to pair it with Ever Hip Lipstick.  Since it’s a bit sticky, if I was looking for just a gloss to wear, I probably wouldn’t pick this.  Gives me slightly sparkly, nudey pink lips

Tools

Retractable Lip Brush from The Body Shop

I got this on sale at The Body Shop, and it is always with me in my bag.  I love this for applying Tendertone in Sweet Tooth.  It has slim, silver packaging, and the brush is covered by a pen-cap-like cover, protecting the brush from dirt.  Its a bit of a pain to clean, but it’s worth it for the neat application it affords.  You can buy similar products in most drugstores, or at Sephora.

Mirrored Compact by Kat Von D

A gift from my boyfriend, it’s heavy and really decorative.  There are star decals on the top mirrored piece which can be a bit annoying, but otherwise I love the heavy, high quality feel of this mirror.  It’s nice to have a pretty mirror!

Other

Get Even by Benefit in Shade 01 (light)

Mattes down any shiny spots with the included sponge.  I don’t like the applicator, and need to find a portable brush to use instead, but the colouring is right and doesn’t look obvious.  Powder isn’t chalky or soft, so it won’t explode and ruin your bag when you least suspect it.  Nice size, slim compact, doesn’t come open unless you want it too, and it has a mirror inside for convenience.

Peppermint Halo Roll On by Sage

My family has a history of headaches, and I find that this aromatic roll on helps me tremendously with at least 70% of my headaches.  It’s small, fits easily in the purse and inconspicuous.  Apply at the temples and all around the hairline, then wait for the cooling sensation of relief to kick in.  This is seriously a life saver, it’s cut down on my consumption of advil and a chance to take less drugs is a chance we should all spring for.  Doesn’t work on everyone, but it’s certainly worth a try!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

