Skip to content

Liberty of London Haul

March 21, 2010

Okay, it’s a little later then I’d planned, but better late then never, right?

Sorry for the crappy photo, still figuring out how to get it at it’s best!  From MAC’s Give Me Liberty of London collection, I’ve picked up (from left to right) Nail Lacquer in Blue India, Beauty Powder in Shell Pearl (above), Lipstick in Ever Hip (below), Powder Blush in Prim and Proper, Eyeshadow in Bough Grey and Lipglass in Frankly Fresh.

Here’s my rundown, and my personal opinion after using them for a while.

Nail Lacquer in Blue India

I really love the denim blue colour with grey subtones, and the longevity of the lacquer.  This is my first nail lacquer by MAC, and was the thing that attracted me most in this collection.  I’ve had an obsession with bright nail polishes since I was a kid, and loved all manner of purples and blues.  This is a bit more of a mature blue, and very wearable!  I just love the colour, and the limited edition bottle with the bird on it is too cute.  However, according to the MAC website, this polish has pearl, and I haven’t seen any of this in mine.  Nothing’s wrong with that, but it’s just not something that I ever noticed when I applied the lacquer.

Beauty Powder in Shell Pearl

A lovely pinky coral with a light gold sheen.  The colour is very soft, so with a light application it makes a nice highlighter.  I’m quite pale (NC15), so I can use this as a bit of a blush as well.  Compact has a nice Liberty of London graphic on top, is a shiny white plastic with a mirror inside.

Lipstick in Ever Hip

Coral pink with a bit of an orange tint.  I find the coverage to be a bit on the sheer side, but it’s buildable.  Has a light glossy sheen.  Since my lips are hardly perfect, I really like wearing it with Frankly Fresh for a natural, slightly coral pout.

Powder Blush in Prim and Proper

This blush is lovely, if applied with a light hand.  It’s a dusty rose and nude sort of colour, with a matte finish which makes it very versatile.  Unfortunately, I find this blush to be a bit powdery and softer then other blushes that I own (MAC’s Personal Style and Nars Orgasm).  The first time I applied it, I picked up way too much and ended up with a dark circle on my cheek. Now that I’m aware of it, it isn’t a problem.  You might also be able to use this colour to contour if your face if the colour works for you.  Packing is glossy white plastic with a Liberty of London decal on the window of the lid.

Eyeshadow in Bough Grey

This is an unexpected hit with me!  I absolutely love this colour, it is a soft dove grey with a green shimmery flash.  I just love it for single eyeshadow days, which lately has been most days.  It makes a nice daytime suitable alternative to a smokey eye.  Very soft, and offers buildable pigmentation.    You dont get a lot of colour with a single swipe, but it doesn’t take too much to get enough colour.  Best of all, this grey could be combined with a colour to make a soft smoke, or with a darker tone for an evening look.  Limited edition packaging features a white plastic housing, and a green flower on the shadow viewing window.

Lipglass in Frankly Fresh

Nude-pink lipglass with some light shimmer.  Has the typical sticky formulation of most MAC products, but I find I can get decent longevity.  Pairs wonderfully with Ever Hip Lipstick, or on naked lips.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

